OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSIO

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT AND/OR ADMINISTRATIVE IMPACT STATEMENT
SECOND REGULAR SESSION, FIFTY-SIXTH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE

DATE OF IMPACT STATEMENT: February 5. 2018

BILL NUMBER: SB 1560 STATUS AND DATE OF BILL: Introduced 01/19/2018

AUTHORS: House n/a  Senate Pugh

TAX TYPE (S): Motor Vehicle SUBJECT: Other

PROPOSAL: Amendatory

The measure defines a direct-sale manufacturer and categories same as a motor vehicle dealer in
addition to requiring the direct sale manufacturer to collect sales and excise tax from the purchaser of

a vehicle and remit the tax revenues to the Oklahoma Tax Commission.

EFFECTIVE DATE: November 1. 2018

REVENUE IMPACT:

Insert dollar amount (plus or minus) of the expected change in state revenues due to this
proposed legislation.

FY 19: $14,054,000 estimated increase in excise tax revenues
$ 5,405,000 estimated increase in state sales tax revenues
FY 20: $28,886,000 estimated increase in excise tax revenues
$11,100,000 estimated increase in state sales tax revenues

ADMINISTRATIVE IMPACT:
Insert the estimated cost or savings to the Tax Commission due to this proposed legislation.

FY 19: None
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~ ATTACHMENT TO FISCAL IMPACT-SB 1560—[Introduced]-Prepared February S, 2018

The measure defines a direct-sale manufacturer and categories same as a motor vehicle dealer in
addition to requiring the direct sale manufacturer to collect sales and excise tax from the purchaser of
a vehicle and remit the tax revenues to the Oklahoma Tax Commission,

Section 1 proposes amendment to 47 O.8. § 562 by providing a definition of direct sale
manufacturer’ and categorizing a direct-sale manufacturer as a new motor vehicle dealer.

Section 2 relates to the conditions upon which the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission may deny,
revoke or suspend a license or impose a fine against a vehicle manufacturer or distributor. Excludes
direct sale manufacturers from these disqualifying conditions as applicable.

Sections 3, 4, 5 propose amendments to Sections 1361, 1402 and 2103 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma
Statutes requiring the direct-sale manufacturer to collect sales and excise tax from the purchaser of
the vehicle and remit same to the Oklahoma Tax Commission.

Section 6 proposes amendment to 68 O.S. § 2105 by striking the excise exemption for any vehicle
owned by a nonresident person who operates principally in some other state but who is in Oklahoma
only occassionaly.

Industry information indicates estimated vehicles sales in Oklahoma by direct-sale manufacturers of
$741,290,230 for FY 19. Vehicle sales by direct-sale manufacturers in this state for FY 20 are
estimated at $888,785,530. Application of the applicable sales and excise tax rates and adjustment
for the November 1, 2018 effective date results in the following estimated increases in sales and
excise tax.

FY 19
Estimated increase in Vehicle Excise and Sales tax of $14,053,627 and $5,405,241 respectively.

FY 20
Estimated increase in Vehicle Excise and Sales tax of $28,885,530 and $11,109,819 respectively.

I “Direct-Sale Manufacturer” means a manufacturer that does not have and has never had any independent franchise
new motor vehicle dealers in the State of Oklahoma.




